Medical Advisory Board


Doctor Sunil Badve

Sunil S. Badve, M.D.

Associate Professor, Director of Immunohistochemistry Clarian Pathology Laboratory, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Indiana University Hospital, Indianapolis, IN. 

Special interests: surgical pathology, breast pathology, systems biology and personalized medicine.


Doctor Funmi OlopadeOlufunmilayo F. Olopade, M.D. 

Walter L. Palmer Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine and Human Genetics, Associate Dean, Global Health Director, Center for Clinical Cancer Genetics, The University of Chicago Medical Center, Chicago, IL. 

Clinical interests include: breast cancer in young women, women with a family history of breast or ovarian cancer, breast cancer associated with pregnancy, and inflammatory breast cancer.


Doctor George Sledge JuniorGeorge W. Sledge, Jr., M.D.

Professor, and Chief, Division of Oncology, Stanford University Medical Center. Past President American Society of Clinical Oncology (2010-2011).

Clinical focus: breast cancer.


Doctor Patricia S. SteegPatricia S. Steeg, Ph.D.

Deputy Chief, Women’s malignancies Branch and Senior Investigator at the Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute in Bethesda, MD.

Areas of expertise: breast cancer, metastasis, brain metastasis, metastasis suppressor genes, dormancy, blood-brain barrier. 


Doctor Danny Welch

Danny R. Welch, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair of Cancer Biology, University of Kansas’ KU Medical Center and adjunct faculty Department of Molecular & Integrative Physiology. 

Research interest: the mechanisms by which tumor cells acquire the ability to metastasize.


Doctor Denise YardleyDenise A. Yardley, M.D.

Senior Investigator, Breast Cancer Research Program, Sarah Cannon Research Institute. 

Research interests include: neoadjuvant therapy, biologic targeted therapy, molecular aberrations in breast cancer as potential targets for clinical trials.


The Inflammatory Breast Cancer Research Foundation thanks Medical Advisory Board Members Emeritus, Douglas J. Schwartzentruber, M.D., FACS, associate director of clinical affairs at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center and John H. Barton, M.D. of Tennessee Oncology for their years of service.